Jurisdictional, Licensing, and Regulation Concerns
North Dakota has two types of licenses, a Private Investigator License and a Private Detective Agency license.
Reference Website: http://www.nd.gov/pisb/elig.htmlContact Information:
North Dakota Private Investigation & Security Board, 513 E. Bismarck Expressway, Suite 5, Bismarck, North Dakota, United States, 58504
Phone: (701) 222-3063Citation Statute:
43-30-01 through 43-30-16
Website: https://www.legis.nd.gov/cencode/t43c30.pdfQualifications Requirement:
Be at least eighteen years of age.
Be a high school graduate or hold the equivalent of a high school diploma.
Have not been convicted or adjudged guilty in any jurisdiction of one of the following offenses or its equivalent in another jurisdiction, including juvenile adjudication that the individual has engaged in similar conduct: any felony, any class A or B misdemeanor involving an act of violence or intimidation as defined in North Dakota Century Code chapters 12.1-16 through 12.1-25 and chapter 12.1-31.2 or involving controlled substances as defined in North Dakota Century Code chapter 19-03.1, any offense involving theft as defined in North Dakota Century Code chapter 12.1-23, including shoplifting; or any other offense which must be reported to the North Dakota Bureau of Criminal Investigation under North Dakota Century Code section 12.1-32-15. This subsection will not prohibit the board from issuing a license or registration to an individual if the board determines the offense does not have a direct bearing upon the individual's ability to provide private investigative services to the public and the individual has been sufficiently rehabilitated pursuant to the provisions of North Dakota Century
Code section 12.1-33-02.1, or a full pardon has been granted.
Be free of mental condition or defect, which would interfere with the individual's ability to provide services in a professional and competent manner.
Have not committed an act which the board determines is indicative of bad moral character and which has a direct bearing on the applicant's ability to serve the public, including but not limited to offenses other than those listed in subsection three of this section.Reciprocity:
North Dakota does not have reciprocity agreements with any other states.Fees:
Licensed Private Investigator - $130.00
Licensed Detective Agency - $250.00
ND BCI Criminal Search - $30.00
FBI Criminal Search - $22.00Renewal Information:
A license to provide private investigative or security services is valid for a two-year period, ending on September thirtieth of each odd-numbered year. License fees must be prorated for the portion of each license period the license is in effect.
The fee to be paid by an applicant for the initial issuance or the renewal of a license as a private investigator or a license to provide private security services may not exceed one hundred fifty dollars. A late fee not to exceed fifty dollars may be charged for each month the renewal fee is due and unpaidForms: http://www.nd.gov/pisb/forms.html Continuing Education:
The board may adopt rules establishing the requirements for the continuing education of persons licensed under this chapter. The board may refuse to renew, suspend, or revoke any license issued under this chapter or place on probationary status any licensee on proof that the licensee has failed to meet the applicable continuing education requirements. Applicants for accreditation of continuing education courses, classes, or activities may be charged a reasonable fee as determined by the board.
North Dakota State requires licensing for Private Investigators, Security Guards and Agencies.
State Licensing Authority: Private Investigative & Security Board
Phone: (701) 222-3063
Only licensed private investigators can conduct investigations in North Dakota. Licenses are only good in North Dakota, there is no State Reciprocity.