Jurisdictional, Licensing, and Regulation Concerns
Iowa has both Agency and Investigator licenses. Iowa also requires continuing education in order to renew a license.
Reference Website: http://www.iowaworkforce.org/LMI/publications/licocc/privateinvestigator.pdfContact Information:
Private Investigative Licensing Program Services Bureau Iowa Department of Public Safety, Wallace State Office Bldg 3rd Fl, Des Moines, Iowa, United States, 50319-0045
Phone: (515) 725-6230
Fax: (515) 281-8921Associations:Iowa Association of Private InvestigatorsCitation Statute:
Code of Iowa, Chapter 80A; Iowa Administrative Code, Chapter 121
Website: http://www.legis.state.ia.us/Rules/Current/iac/661iac/661121/661121.pdfQualifications Requirement:
Be at least 18 years of age and a citizen of the United States
Be of good moral character, have no convictions for an aggravated misdemeanor or a felony, and have never been convicted of assault resulting from domestic abuse
Not be an abuser of alcohol or controlled substance, nor have a history of mental illness, instability or a history of repeated acts of violence
Submit pictures, fingerprints and license fee(s) along with a completed application to the Commissioner of Public Safety
Pass a written examination
Be able to show proof of financial responsibility and must be approved for a $5,000 surety bond; this will be $10,000 if applying for more than one license under this Chapter. For those wishing to work as an employee for an agency, only the first four requirements above apply.
Licensed agencies must also submit an employee I.D. card application along with the items in number four. The agency purchases these applications ($10 each) from the Department of Public Safety prior to the employee completing it.Reciprocity:
Iowa does not have reciprocity agreements with any other states as of February, 2008.Testing:
$100 each license, $30 fingerprint fee for each license holder, $30 fingerprint fee for each license holder renewal, other: Application $10 Identification Card fee (one card needed, no matter how many license types; no expiration, to work for that particular agency only) $10 - Application Packet (in person) $15 - Application Packet (by mail)Renewal Information:
$100 for each two-year license. The Department of Public Safety is responsible for sending out renewal notices (usually 30 days prior to license expiration).Continuing Education:
During the two-year period preceding the agency license expiration date, license holders and their employees must complete a minimum of twelve hours of acceptable continuing education coursesIowa State requires licensing for Des Moines Rapids Private Investigators, Security Guards and Agencies.
State Licensing Authority: State of Iowa
Phone: (515) 281-3211
Only licensed investigators can conduct investigations in Iowa. Licenses are only good in Iowa, there is no State Reciprocity.