Jurisdictional, Licensing, and Regulation Concerns
Kansas Bureau of Investigation
Kansas requires notarized statements from five non relatives in reference to the applicants character.
Reference Website: https://www.accesskansas.org/kbi/pi_verify/helpfulhints.htmlContact Information:
Kansas Bureau of Investigation Private Detective Licensing, 1620 SW Tyler St., Topeka, Kansas, United States, 66612-1837
Phone: (785) 296-4436Associations:Kansas Association of Licensed InvestigatorsCitation Statute:
Kansas Statute 75-7b01 through 75-7b23
Website: https://www.accesskansas.org/ssrv-kbi-pi-verify/statutes.doQualifications Requirement:
You must be at least 21 years old, a citizen of the United States and of good moral character.
Graduated from high school or a GED certificate.
No felony convictions. No misdemeanors convictions within the past 10 years.
That you are not incompetent, incapacitated or impaired by reason of mental condition, deficiency or disease.
Not addicted to, dependent on or abusive of alcohol or a controlled substance.
All Private Detectives must have a $100,000 corporate surety bond, or general liability insurance providing $100,000 of coverage for bodily injury or property damage caused by negligence and errors or omissions, or deposit $100,000 with the State Treasurer.
Must pass an open book examination on the Private Detective Licensing Act.
Must pass a background investigation.Reciprocity:
Kansas does not have reciprocal agreements with any other statesTesting:
Open book examination.Fees:
License fee - $250.00 valid two years from date of issuance
Requires $100,000.00 bond or certificate of insurance
License fee - $250.00 valid for two years from date of issuance
Requires $100,000.00 bond or certificate of insuranceRenewal Information:
Renewal fee $175.00 –every two years
Renewal fee $175.00 –every two yearsForms:
Obtain licensing packet by mailing $15.00 to: Kansas Bureau of Investigation, Attn: Private Detective Licensing, 1620 Tyler, Topeka, KS 66612 Kansas State requires licensing for Private Investigators, Security Guards and Agencies.
State Licensing Authority: Kansas Bureau of Investigation
Only licensed investigators can conduct investigations in Kansas. Licenses are only good in Kansas, there is no State Reciprocity.