Jurisdictional, Licensing, and Regulation Concerns
Maryland has unincorporated (personal) and incorporated (business) licenses for private investigators.
Reference Website: http://mdsp.maryland.gov/Organization/Pages/CriminalInvestigationBureau/LicensingDivision/ProfessionalLicenses/PrivateDetectiveAgencies.aspxContact Information:
Maryland State Police Licensing Division, 1111 Reisterstown Road, Pikesville, Maryland, United States, 21208
Phone: (410) 653.4200Associations:Maryland Investigators and Security AssociationProfessional Investigators Alliance of MarylandCitation Statute:
Md. BUSINESS OCCUPATIONS AND PROFESSIONS Code Ann. § 13-101 (2013)
Website: http://mdsp.maryland.gov/Organization/Documents/Business%20Occupations%20and%20Professions%20Title%2013.pdfQualifications Requirement:
An applicant may be either an individual or a firm. An individual shall be of good character and reputation. If the applicant is a firm, each firm member shall be of good character and reputation. The individual or firm representative shall be at least 25 years old. All applicants shall meet the required experience outlined below:
At least 5 years of experience as a full-time certified or licensed private detective; OR
5 years of experience as a full-time police officer with an organized police agency; and
completed successfully a police officer training course that is recognized and approved by the Maryland Police Training Commission; OR
At least 3 years of experience in an investigative capacity as a detective while serving as a police officer with an organized police agency; OR
3 years of experience in an investigative capacity in any unit of the United States, of the State, or of a county or municipal corporation of the State for the purpose of law enforcement; and
completed successfully the police officer training required by the Maryland Police Training Commission; OR
5 years of experience as a full-time fire investigator for a fire department or law enforcement agency of the State or of a county or municipal corporation of the State; and
completed successfully the training certified by the Maryland Police Training Commission or the Maryland Fire-Rescue Education and Training Commission.Reciprocity:
The state of Maryland does not have reciprocity agreements with any other states.Fees:
The fee for an initial application is $200 for an individual (unincorporated) and $375 for a firm (incorporated). Additional fees and fines may apply; see the Fee Schedule? for more information. Fees must be paid by check or money order made payable to the Maryland State Police.Renewal Information:
The fee for a renewal application is $200 for an individual and $400 for a firm.
Private Detective Agency License expires two (2) years after its date of issuance and upon the date the Secretary of State Police sets. Licenses are staggered resulting in expiration in either January or July depending on the date of initial application. The license may be renewed for an additional 2-year term.
The Licensing Division will mail to the licensee a renewal notice at least one month prior to expiration. The renewal notice will include:
A renewal application form; and
A notice that states:
the date on which the current license expires;
that the Secretary must receive the renewal application and the statements required under § 13-309 of this subtitle, at least 15 days before the license expiration date, for the renewal to be issued and mailed before the license expires;
the amount of the renewal fee;
that, if the statements required under § 13-309 of this subtitle are not received at least 15 days before the license expiration date, a fee of $10 per day shall be charged against the licensee until the statements are received; and
that the submission of a false statement in the renewal application or in the annual statements is cause for revocation of the license.
The renewal application must be received by the Maryland State Police at least 15 days prior to the expiration date.Maryland requires licensing for Silver Spring Private Investigators, Security Guards and Agencies.
Only licensed investigators can conduct investigations in Maryland.
State Licensing Authority: Maryland State Police
Phone: (410) 653-4200
Maryland licenses are only good in Silver Spring Maryland and surrounding areas in the state. There is no State Reciprocity.