Jurisdictional, Licensing, and Regulation Concerns
The Nevada licensing website is difficult to navigate.
Reference Website: http://nevadapilb.glsuite.us/Contact Information:
Nevada Private Investigator Licensing Board, 3476 Executive Pointe Way, Suite 14, Carson City, Nevada, United States, 89706
Phone: (775) 687-3223
Fax: (775) 687-3226Associations:Citation Statute:
Website: http://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-648.htmlQualifications Requirement:
Be 21 years of age.
Be a citizen of the United States or lawfully entitled to remain and work in the United States.
Be of good moral character and temperate habits.
Have no conviction of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude or the illegal use or possession of a dangerous weapon.
Undergo a criminal history background check through the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), the Nevada Highway Patrol (NHP) and California Department of
Justice (CDOJ) if you have lived in or ever visited the State of California.
Have 5 years (2,000 hours each year, totaling 10,000 hours) of investigative experience. An associate’s degree in Police Science or Criminal Justice is the equivalent of 8 months or 1,333 hours, and a
Bachelor’s Degree in Police Science or Criminal Justice is the equivalent of 18 months or 3000 hours of experience.
Experience must be certified by your employer on the forms provided in the application.
If the applicant is a corporation:
The application must be signed and verified by the president, the secretary and the treasurer thereof, and must specify:
The name of the corporation.
The date and place of its incorporation.
The amount of the corporation’s outstanding paid-up capital stock.
Whether this stock was paid for in cash or property, and if in property, the nature and description of the property.
The name of the person or persons affiliated with the corporation who possess the qualifications required for a license under this chapter.
The application must be accompanied by a certified copy of the corporation’s certificate of incorporation together with a certification from the secretary of state that the corporation is in good standing and, if the corporation is a foreign corporation, a certification from the secretary of state that the corporation is qualified to do business in this state.
The successor to every such officer or a director shall, before entering upon the discharge of his duties, sign and verify a like statement, approved in like manner as this chapter prescribes for an individual signatory to an application and shall transmit the statement to the board.
In the event of the death, resignation or removal of such an officer or a director, notice of that fact must be given in writing to the board within 10 days after the death, resignation or removal. The board shall conduct such an investigation of the successor pursuant to NRS as it deems necessary to verify the successor’s qualifications.
If an applicant is a corporation, a background biography and a standard Federal Bureau of Investigation fingerprint card for each of the three principal officers of the corporation must be submitted with the application.
If the applicant is a corporation which is owned by a holding company or is a wholly-owned subsidiary of another corporation, a background biography and fingerprint card must be submitted for each of the three principal officers of the holding company or parent corporation.
Before issuing any license or annual renewal thereof, the board shall require satisfactory proof that the applicant or licensee:
Is covered by a policy of insurance for protection against liability to third persons, with limits of liability in amounts not less than $200,000, written by an insurance company authorized to do business in this state; or
Possesses and will continue to possess sufficient means to act as a self-insurer against that liability.
Every licensee shall maintain the policy of insurance or self-insurance required by this section. The license of every such licensee is automatically suspended 10 days after receipt by the licensee of notice from the board that the required insurance is not in effect, unless satisfactory proof of insurance is provided to the board within that period.
Proof of insurance or self-insurance must be in such a form as the board may require.Reciprocity:
Nevada does not have reciprocity agreements with any other states.Testing:
Pass a one-hour written exam consisting of 50 questions with a score of 75% or better.
Exam Dates: January, April, July and OctoberFees:
Application - $50 – Cashiers check or money order only; we will not accept personal or business checks.
Corporate Officer/Director/Member Applications - $20 each.
Background Investigation Deposit -- An applicant shall deposit with the board at the time of making an initial application for any license a fee of $750 for the first category of license and $250 for each additional category of license for which application is made, which must be applied to the cost of conducting the investigation. An individual applicant who is a resident of Nevada is liable for the entire cost of the investigation up to a maximum cost of $1,500 for the first category of license and $500 for each additional category of license for which application is made. A corporate applicant or an individual applicant who is not a resident of Nevada is liable for the entire cost of the investigation.
The same applies for corporate applicants; however, there is no cap on the cost of the investigation.
Examination - $100 per category – non-refundable
Abeyance Fee - $ 100.00 - per license - per year
Initial licensing - $500 - pro-rated
Licensing fees are for fiscal year beginning July 1 and are pro-rated by month if received after that date.Renewal Information:
Annual License Renewal - $500.00 - per license - per yearForms:
It is under the subheading applicants, then under the subheading forms.http://nevadapilb.glsuite.us/ Nevada State requires licensing for Las Vegas Private Investigators, Security Guards and Agencies.
State Licensing Authority: Office of the Attorney General Nevada Department of Justice
Phone: (775) 684-1100
Only licensed investigators can conduct investigations in Nevada. Licenses are only good in Nevada, there is no State Reciprocity.