Jurisdictional, Licensing, and Regulation Concerns
West Virginia Private Investigator License
There are two types of licenses in the state of West Virginia, an Individual Private Investigator license as well as a Private Investigator Firm license.
Reference Website: https://sos.wv.gov/business/Pages/PISGLicInfo.aspxContact Information:
West Virginia Secretary of State, Private Investigator & Security Guard Licensing, Building 1, Suite 157-K 1900 Kanawha Blvd. E., Charleston, West Virginia, United States, 25305
Phone: (304) 558-6000Associations:Private Investigators and Security Professionals of West VirginiaQualifications Requirement:
Regardless of whether you intend to apply for an individual or firm license, as a private investigator or security guard, there nine basic requirements which apply to all applicants. For a firm, these basic requirements apply to all officers, member or partners, and all employees who will conduct business.
1. Be at least 18 years old or older.
2. Be a citizen of the United States, or an alien legally residing in the United States.
3. Be of good moral character.
4. Have not had a previous private investigator or security guard license revoked or denied in West Virginia or any other state.
5. Have not been declared incompetent by a court because of a mental defect or illness.
6. Do not suffer from narcotics addiction or dependence or habitual drunkenness.
7. Have not been convicted of a felony in this state or any other state or territory.
8. Have not been convicted of any of these crimes:
* Illegally using, carrying or possessing a pistol or other dangerous weapon;
* Making or possessing burglar's instruments;
* Buying or receiving stolen property;
* Entering a building unlawfully;
* Aiding an inmate's escape from prison;
* Possessing or distributing illicit drugs; or
* Any misdemeanor involving moral turpitude or for which dishonesty of character is a necessary element.Reciprocity:
West Virginia does not have any reciprocity with other states.Fees:
A $50 non-refundable processing fee is included in the fee. If your license is denied, the remainder will be refunded.
One-year license and processing fee for individual:
$150 West Virginia Resident
$550 Non-Resident of WVForms: https://sos.wv.gov/business/Pages/PISGLicInfo.aspx