Jurisdictional, Licensing, and Regulation Concerns
Maine Private Investigator License
Maine State Police and the Department of Safety oversee "Professional Investigator" licensing in the state.
Reference Website: http://janus.state.me.us/legis/statutes/32/title32ch89sec0.htmlContact Information:
State House Station 164, Augusta, Maine, United States, 04333
Phone: (207) 624-7210
Fax: (207) 287-3424Associations:Maine Private Investigators AssociationCitation Statute:
Maine Revised Statutes
Chapter 89: Private Investigators
Website: http://janus.state.me.us/legis/statutes/32/title32ch89sec0.htmlQualifications Requirement:
At least 21 years of age.
Citizen or resident alien of United States.
High school graduate.
Good moral character.
Must not have been dishonorably discharged.
Has passed an examination.
Meets the work experience requirements of either:
1. Completed an investigative assistant sponsorship program and has earned a minimum of 60 academic credits of postsecondary education in a related field of study.
2. Minimum 3 years as federal or military investigator.
3. 3 year holder of professional investigator license.
4. 3 years as law enforcement officer.
5. 6 years of preparation (work plus educational).Testing:
An examination is required.Fees:
Amount: The fee for an original biennial license is $500, of which $50 must be submitted with the application and $450 must be submitted upon issuance of the license. The fee for an investigative assistant's license is $600, of which $200 must be submitted with the application and $400 must be submitted upon issuance of the license.Renewal Information:
Initial Renewal term is for 2 years, then all subsequent renewals are for 4 years.
The fee for a 4-year renewal is $500.Forms: http://www.maine.gov/dps/msp/licenses/pi.html