Jurisdictional, Licensing, and Regulation Concerns
Oklahoma requires continuing education for its licensed investigators. Oklahoma has a very helpful system named CLEET that handles all private investigator licensing matters.
Reference Website: https://www.ok.gov/cleet/Licensing/Private_Investigators/Contact Information:
Council on Law Enforcement Education & Training, 2401 Egypt Road, Ada, Oklahoma, United States, 74820-0669
Phone: 405-239-5100Associations:Oklahoma Private Investigators AssociationCitation Statute:
Website: http://law.justia.com/codes/oklahoma/2015/title-59/section-59-1750.1/Qualifications Requirement:
Straight from the State of Oklahoma Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training, Chapter 35 Regulation of the Private Security Industry,
(1) be 21 years of age;
(2) be a citizen of the United States or a resident alien;
(3) not have been convicted of a felony or crime involving moral turpitude unless waived by the
Council pursuant to O.S. Title 59, Section 1750.5 (H);
(4) not have had his license revoked or application for such license denied by CLEET;
(5) be of good moral character; and
(6) in the case of a corporation, be incorporated under the laws of the state.Reciprocity:
The state of Oklahoma does not have reciprocity agreements with any other statesTesting:
An exam is required in order to be licensed in the state of Oklahoma. More info on testing dates can be found here: https://www.ok.gov/cleet/Licensing/Training/#TestingDates.Fees:
Unarmed Private Investigator: $91.00
Armed Private Investigator: $141.00Renewal Information:
Every 3 years.
Sixteen (16) hours
Sixteen (16) hours
Oklahoma State requires licensing for Norman Private Investigators, Security Guards and Agencies.
State Licensing Authority: Oklahoma Private Investigator Association
Phone: (405) 235-0214
Only licensed investigators can conduct investigations in Oklahoma.
Oklahoma licenses are only good in Oklahoma, there is no State Reciprocity.