Jurisdictional, Licensing, and Regulation Concerns
Oklahoma requires continuing education for its licensed investigators. Oklahoma has a very helpful system named CLEET that handles all private investigator licensing matters.
Reference Website: http://www.cleet.state.ok.us/Security.htmContact Information:
Council on Law Enforcement Education & Training Private Security Division, P. O. Box 11476-Cimarron Station, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States, 73136-0476
Phone: (405) 425-2775Associations:Oklahoma Private Investigators AssociationCitation Statute:
Website: http://www.oscn.net/applications/oscn/deliverdocument.asp?citeID=96643//Qualifications Requirement:
18 years of age for unarmed license, 21 for armed license.
Citizen of the Untied States or alien legally residing in the U.S.
Be of good moral character, not have been convicted of a felony or crime involving moral turpitude unless waived by the Council pursuant to O.S.Reciprocity:
The state of Oklahoma does not have reciprocity agreements with any other statesTesting:
An exam is required in order to be licensed in the state of Oklahoma. The following link provides date, times and locations of the exam.
Unarmed Private Investigator $66.00
Private Investigator - Firearms Permitted $116.00Renewal Information:
Payment should be remitted to CLEET in the form of a cashier’s check or money order.
Two (2) recent, color passport-size photos.
Current employment with a Licensed Agency, or Current individual Surety Bond
$10,000-Armed LicenseForms: http://www.cleet.state.ok.us/forms/ps/IndividualLicenseApplicationJuly2006.pdf Continuing Education:
Sixteen (16) hours
Sixteen (16) hours
Oklahoma State requires licensing for
Private Investigators, Security Guards and Agencies.
State Licensing Authority: Oklahoma Private Investigator Association
Phone: (405) 235-0214
Only licensed investigators can conduct investigations in Oklahoma.
Oklahoma licenses are only good in Oklahoma, there is no State Reciprocity.